Board of Road Commissioners

Road Commissioners are elected to six year staggered terms in even numbered years. In each election cycle, up to 1/3 of the Road Board members are up for re-election. Road Commissioners do not have districts, but rather are elected countywide. In 2008, by resolution of the County Board of Commissioners, the Road Commission Board was expanded from three to five members.

2018 Board of Road Commissioners

David F. Brandt, Vice-Chairman
Term expires 2022


David Brown, Chairman
Term expires 2020

Henry Ginop, Member
Term expires 2022


Clarence M. O'Connor, Member
Term expires 2018

Kenneth Paquet, Member
Term expires 2024

County Road Commission Board Meetings

Board meetings are held at 9:00 am (8:00 am during summer months (May thru Labor Day Week) at the Main Office in Indian River on the 1st and 3rd Thursdays of each month, unless a change has been made.

Board Meeting Minutes

Minutes of meetings are shown below:


R. Brent Shank

5302 South Straits Highway
Indian River, MI 49749
(231) 238-7775 or (877) 257-2272
Fax: (231) 238-0830

(April - Sept): Mon - Thurs: 7:00 am - 5:00 pm

(Oct - April): Mon - Fri: 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Additional Staff
Dana S. Stempky
Engineering Tech
Travis Horrocks
Payroll Clerk
Lois Valley
Purchasing Agent
Joel Grubinski
Shop B. Foreman
Marty Sarrault
County Foreman - Cheboygan Garage
Shane Redmond
County Foreman - Indian River Garage
Darry August
Crew Leader - Tower Garage
Ted Hand
State B Foreman-Cheboygan
Andy Blaskowski
State B Foreman-Indian River
Mike Laway